h1

Love poem in cliché minor

June 15, 2010

I haven’t been fair
to our love
my darling
when I say that
all that can be said about love
has passed
in words
clichéd now for years.
To speak softly
of your hand
chest and legs
as though no one has seen
what I see
would only put me
to Neruda’s shame.
But your pout
so serious as you drive
is mine, I think
to steal
your accent
and the way you reverse
your “j” and “g”
and the way “sandwich” comes
with a clenching of your jaw
lower teeth exposed
upper lip upturned
and your eyes always in those
playful moments
to my lips lowered
in your coy boyishness.
I want to brush your hair
fix your collar
lift your sweater
squeeze your temple
with a kiss designed to mark you
speeding as we are on these
deconstructed
reconstructed spirally streets.
I haven’t been fair
because I didn’t mention
your smile
when I become a little girl
or the way your silence
speaks to me
more than all the artificial talk and moan
enveloping me at every
corner plane
cramped space
elevator cube and noose
and perhaps it’s futile
to describe what can only
instinctively be felt on a
dusty cloudy afternoon
sitting by you in the car
trying to mould a love
poem that hasn’t been written,
I told you darling,
I haven’t been fair.

5 comments

  1. beautiful sarah, im so happy for u and love ur words


  2. This was a very lovely poem…thanks ever for sharing this gift with us.


  3. lovely 🙂


  4. u know how to pull me in emotionally every time! send me ur book habibi!
    -Dana


  5. thanks guys 🙂



Leave a Reply

