h1

Time

July 9, 2010

Light switch
white
walls
white
the window lets the afternoon in
beige curtains unhinged
in disdain
couch sinks under my weight
refrigerator hums itself cold
A/C falls silent.
My body bending towards paper
free time
the non-action
in daylight
distant highway moans
screech past the bedsheets.
Your breath darling
would ease my nothingness
your presence
I pray for
in my unholy church
imagined mosque
a prayer for your comfort
for the jagged numbers
and now fading light
that you come to me
when the movement falls still
to whisper all is nothing
when your body and mine are wrapped tight
the meanings forgotten
and thinking’s sorrow forever erased.

By Sarah Snowneil Ali

4 comments

  1. you are amazing – looking forward to getting a copy of the book when i am in lebanon.
    Dana


  2. Dear Sarah,

    I read your poem on Dana’s page and I liked it very much. I am co-editor of an anthology project: Mapping Me – A Landscape of Women’s Stories (website above). Would you be interested in finding out more about it? If yes I will send you further information.

    Thanks and regards,
    Tamara

    Editor
    Mapping Me: A Landscape of Women’s Stories
    web: http://www.mapping-me.blogspot.com
    email: mappingme@gmail.com


  3. Beautifully written.


  4. Dear Tamara,That sounds wonderful, sorry for not getting back to you before but I was out of the country and just saw this now. I’ll check out the blog and info Dana has just sent me :)Looking forward to this!

    Thank you Josie!



Leave a Reply

